Bloggin’ Banat

two arab-american chicks takin’ over the blogosphere

Protest for Gaza in Washington, DC December 31, 2008

Yesterday there was a protest held for Gaza in front of the State Department in Washington, DC that was organized by the ANSWER CoalitionThousands showed up to call for an end to the Israeli attacks in the Gaza Strip.  The protest started at the State Department then protesters marched down towards Constitution Avenue up to the White House and back to the State Department;  all during rush hour traffic.  It was awesome.

When I first heard of the planned protest, I wanted to go but was unsure. I didn’t have anyone to go with me and I was apprehensive on going alone.  However, I felt compelled to go and went. I’m so glad that I did. It felt good to show my solidarity with the people of Gaza and to show DC area residents that humanitarian crimes are being committed with our tax payer dollars and we’re not going to stand for it. There were people from all walks of life there; black, white, young, old, Muslim, Christian, etc. 

I had someone ask me yesterday what’s the point of going to these protests?  They don’t change anything.  But I say that they do. While the rockets may still reign down on the people of Gaza, these protests let the world know that there are thousands upon thousands of people everywhere who are outraged and do not approve of our governments’ actions, or in the case of the United States, inaction.  And for those people who have been living under a rock and are unaware of what’s going on, these protests help open their eyes to the atrocities and injustices being committed.  So, if you’re a person of conscious and there’s a protest planned in your area in the days to come, go; you’ll be glad you did.

 

Leave a Reply

